History & Achievements

Dybwad Award Photo with Louis Nisenbaum in 2012

MFOFC: A 21 Year Retrospective by Emily Murgo Nisenbaum

2015 Parent/Professional Advocacy League (PPAL) Excellence in Family Leadership Award given to Ann Berube, MFOFC Board Member – Ann Berube is a Family Resource Specialist for the Gardner Family Center with YOU Inc. and MFOFC Board of Director representing the Central Region. At their May 29th conference, PPAL recognized Ann’s dedication and strong advocacy on behalf of families of children and youth with mental health needs presenting her with the “Excellence in Family Leadership Award”. Ann is active in legislative advocacy and is well known to pick up the phone to contact legislators and discuss the need to strengthen or change policy to greater support families. Her dedication, voice and advocacy has helped families across the state. One parent told PPAL, “Ann gives me hope and was the first person that I trusted to tell that I had a child that had significant needs”.

2012 Gunnar Dybwad Leadership Award given posthumously to Louis Nisenbaum, a co-founder of MFOFC. (View Award Event Video) Louis “Lou” Nisenbaum of Lakeville received the 2012 Gunnar  Dybwad Leadership Award posthumously. The award is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant impact on enhancing the lives of individuals with disabilities in the Commonwealth. For more than 40 years, Mr. Nisenbaum worked to enhance the lives of individuals with intellectual disabilities and early on in his career saw the need to empower people with disabilities rather than simply provide them with care. He established a new community residence in Attleboro, one of the very first operated by a private non-profit organization. Mr. Nisenbaum later was instrumental in the independent living movement guiding people to establish their own accessible apartments and exercise self determination in designing their own supports. He founded The Nemasket Group, a human service agency focused on community integration and was a co-founder of Mass Families Organizing for Change, an organization supporting families throughout the Commonwealth.

VIDEO: Gunnar Dybwad, produced by the Disability History Project – Leadership in the History of the Developmental Disabilities Movement. Click here to view the video.

2010 Gunnar Dybwad Leadership Award given to Susan Nadworny. Click here to read more.

2010 DDS/SAC State House Honorees included MFOFC Board Member Cathe Carpenter. Click here to read more.

2005 Gunnar Dybwad Leadership Award given to Emily Murgo Nisenbaum. Click here to read more.

Archive of Early MFOFC Newsletters